Who we are

The OBR is led by the three members of the Budget Responsibility Committee (BRC). They have executive responsibility for carrying out the core functions of the OBR, including responsibility for the judgements reached in its forecasts. They are:

• Robert Chote (Chairman)

• Steve Nickell CBE

• Graham Parker CBE

The OBR’s Oversight Board ensures that effective arrangements are in place to provide assurance on risk management, governance and internal control. It consists of the three members of the BRC, plus two non-executive members. Currently they are:

Lord Burns

• Dame Kate Barker 

The OBR’s Advisory Panel of economic and fiscal experts meets regularly to advise the OBR on its work programme and analytical methods. The current members are: Ben Broadbent (Bank of England), Prof Wendy Carlin (UCL), Carl Emmerson (Institute for Fiscal Studies), John Llewellyn (Llewellyn Consulting), Prof Andrew Scott (LBS), Prof Peter Spencer (York and ITEM Club) and Prof Simon Wren Lewis (Oxford).

The OBR has a permanent staff of 17 civil servants, led by Andy King.

OBR staff vacancies are advertised openly where possible. Applications for externally advertised posts are welcome from both inside and outside the civil service. Posts will be advertised on our vacancies page.